Crikey, I’m on Tour !

On tour in the beautiful South Island of New Zealand.

So I get to play some nice venues, meet great and friendly people, while driving some of the best roads in the world and enjoying the spectacular scenery along the way. Marvellous !

IMG_1997Here’s a pic from Kaiteriteri Beach in the evening sunshine, during a rest day. See what I mean?

It’s been a bit of a mission to get this off the ground; my first solo tour organised almost entirely by myself (with a bit of wonderful help with finding couches to surf). It all started when Anna Heniz of Nelson Acoustic Routes chatted at the end of Tui Farm folk festival, and asked when I was coming down again and would I pop into her folk club.

We got in touch by email. ‘How many songs would you like?’ I asked. ‘An hour,” she said, ‘You’re the main act. And any month except the one when we are away, I want to hear it.’

Wow. And ayeek !

This was months back, and we settled on April – a few months to organise other things, weather still warm. So I started emailing and using facebucket messages to get in touch with other potential venues to make this into a mini tour. And calls.

kaitakiTravelling across the Cook Strait is a big part of the logistics, and expense. Luckily I got to play as the entertainment on board Kaitaki for the crossings; sort of singing for my supper. Didn’t get to see much of the scenery in the Sounds this time, which is a pity as it is fantastic.

Anyhoo, I’m on tour. Me and heaps of gear in my old Toymota.

Dates (with links to event details);

8 April – Interislander, Wellington – Picton – 9:30am
9 April – Motueka, Elevation Cafe – 7:00pm
10 April – Nelson, Yaza Cafe – 7:30pm
13 April – Greymouth, Speights Ale House – 7:30pm
15 April – Dunedin, Ombrellos – 5:30pm
16 April – Dunedin, Inch Bar – 8:30pm
17 April – New England Folk Club (support) – 7:30pm
19 April – Lyttelton, Wunderbar – 8:30pm
20 April – Picton, Le Cafe – 7:30pm
21 April – Interislander, Picton – Wellington – 2:30pm

I’ll update info below as I go;

I’m particularly excited about the Picton connection. I have a growing fascination with old stories about the area and have written a song Nine Pairs of Eyes about the Perano whalers of the early / mid 20th century. Must get round to demoing it some time as it seems to be going down very well. I even sang it to the lovely and helpful staff at the Picton Museum on my way through on the 8th. They even gave me words to a couple of other old songs and ideas for others from local stories. I also talked to the whale centre and local media, so watch this space as they say. The 20th could be something special as I have asked for old whalers or people with stories or connection to get in touch.

About Nigel Parry Music

Described by a radio presenter as; 'one of the finest traditional folk artists in NZ', Nigel Parry's unique mix of singer / songwriter, traditional and early folk music relies heavily on his vocal arrangements. Hailing from the UK, he was originally a rock singer and turned to folk music through friends, historical events and real ale. Nigel now lives near Wellington and in the last 4 years has performed at folk events and music venues around New Zealand, festivals and live on radio and in the UK, France and Canada.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

I would love to hear your comments

